Tags

, , , , ,

??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

Grand Gulf

This is a new place to me. I had always wanted to visit Grand Gulf, but its remote location had prevented me. Then on my way back from the Arkansas Literary Festival late last month, I realized that the highway would take me within six miles of this park.

Grand Gulf is a collapsed cave system, with what once had been the walls of the cave now forming the walls of a canyon about 130 feet deep. Trails wind along the top of the gulf, although for obvious  reasons there are no trails to the bottom. Any “trail” to the bottom would quickly become a “plummet” instead.

The water that flows through Grand Gulf shows up, one to four days later, at Mammoth Spring in Arkansas, nine miles away. The whole complex is a nifty illustration of karst topography in the Ozarks.

